top of page

Un Recuerdo A Mi Pueblo (A Tribute To My Town)

When I remember the days

that saw my early childhood

spent on the green shores

of a murmurous lagoon;

when I remember the coolness,

delicious and refreshing,

that on my face I felt

as I heard Favonius croon;

when I behold the white lily

swell to the wind’s impulsion,

and that tempestuous element

meekly asleep on the sand;

when I inhale the dear

intoxicating essence

the flowers exude when dawn

is smiling on the land;

sadly, sadly I recall

your visage, precious childhood,

which an affectionate mother

made beautiful and bright;

I recall a simple town,

my comfort, joy and cradle,

beside a balmy lake,

the seat of my delight.

Ah, yes, my awkward foot

explored your sombre woodlands,

and on the banks of your rivers

in frolic I took part.

I prayed in your rustic temple,

a child, with a child’s devotion;

and your unsullied breeze

exhilarated my heart.

The Creator I saw in the grandeur

of your age-old forests;

upon your bosom, sorrows

were ever unknown to me;

while at your azure skies

I gazed, neither love nor tenderness

failed me, for in nature

lay my felicity.

Tender childhood, beautiful town,

rich fountain of rejoicing

and of harmonious music

that drove away all pain:

return to this heart of mine,

return my gracious hours,

return as the birds return

when flowers spring again!

But O goodbye! May the Spirit

of Good, a loving gift-giver,

keep watch eternally over

your peace, your joy, your sleep!

For you, my fervent pryers;

for you, my constant desire

to learn; and I pray heaven

your innocence to keep!

Background

Jose Rizal wrote Un Recuerdo A Mi Pueblo (A Tribute To My Town) when he was 15 years old in 1876. He was then a student in Ateneo de Municipal. Rizal, being away from his family, reminisced his memories of childhood in his hometown, Calamba, Laguna and wrote this poem to express his love and appreciation for the place where he grew up.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page